Hot SheetLegislatureLocal government

Americans for Prosperity scorecard lauds 22 legislative Republicans

Author: Joey Bunch - August 10, 2018 - Updated: August 10, 2018

Americans for ProsperityHouse minority leader Patrick Neville, left, pictured in a 2017 meeting with reporters, is one of the legislative Republicans lauded Friday by Americans for Prosperity. (Photo by Joey Bunch/Colorado Politics)

The well-connected conservative organization Americans for Prosperity-Colorado tapped its 22 favorite Republicans Thursday to receive the Pinnacle of Prosperity Award.

There are 47 Republicans in the House and Senate. The award is based on their votes on bills that “expanded economic opportunities for individuals and small business. Award recipients were also cheered for their support of policies that limited government overreach in the private sector.”

The recipients announced Thursday, in alphabetical order, are Sens. Randy Baumgardner of Hot Sulphur Springs, John Cooke of Greeley, Owen Hill of Colorado Springs, Vicki Marble of Fort Collins, Tim Neville of Littleton, Ray Scott of Grand Junction, Jerry Sonnenberg of Sterling with Reps. Jon Becker of Fort Morgan, Susan Beckman of Littleton, Perry Buck of Windsor, Terri Carver of Colorado Springs, Justin Everett of Littleton, Stephen Humphrey of Severance, Tim Leonard of Evergreen, Kimmi Lewis of Kim, Paul Lundeen of Monument, Patrick Neville of Castle Rock, Kim Ransom of Littleton, Lori Saine of Dacono, Shane Sandridge of Colorado Springs, Kevin Van Winkle of Highlands Ranch and Dave Williams of Colorado Springs..

“These members have shown a commitment to building an environment where individuals and small business can succeed,” AFP state director Jesse Mallory said in a statement. “Through their hard work in Denver, more Coloradans are realizing the benefits of a smaller government footprint in their everyday lives. And they must continue their focus on removing government barriers that impede success and implement policies that empower individuals.

“We hope these members will continue to lead the charge on passing occupational licensing reform so more Coloradans can chase their dream, enhancing education freedom so our children get the individualized attention they deserve, and defending TABOR against big-government spenders that only want to expand government’s ill-advised reach.”

Based on AFP-CO’s preference, legislators were graded on whether they voted for or against:

Senate Bill 193 and Senate Bill 236: Limit State Agency Occupational Regulations and Least Restrictive Regulation Professions And Occupations, respectively.
Senate Bill 88: Taxation Of Retail Marijuana Sales, which AFP-CO characterized as “defending the Colorado Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR).”
House Bill 1312: Open Internet Customer Protections In Colorado.
House Bill 1298: Colorado Secure Savings Plan, which AFP-CO charactered as “government overreach.”
Senate Bill 216: Alternative Fuel Vehicles Public Utilities, which AFP-CO characterized as “affordable energy.”
Senate Bill 118: Local School Board Authority Over Charter Schools.

Joey Bunch

Joey Bunch

Joey Bunch is the senior political correspondent for Colorado Politics. He has a 31-year career in journalism, including the last 15 in Colorado. He was part of the Denver Post team that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2013 and is a two-time Pulitzer finalist. His resume includes covering high school sports, the environment, the casino industry and civil rights in the South, as well as a short stint at CNN.