Ernest LuningErnest LuningApril 14, 20175min480

Colorado Democrats are conducting a mail-ballot vote this month to decide whether to conclude an unfinished election for a statewide vice chair position by awarding posts to the top three finalists. The post of 2nd vice chair has gone unfilled since last month’s party reorganization meeting when none of the candidates won a majority of the vote after multiple rounds of balloting.


Ernest LuningErnest LuningFebruary 22, 201718min500

Three months after Democrats were stunned by the results of the presidential election — and just three weeks into the Trump administration — the party’s Denver County central committee turned out in record numbers for its biennial reorganization meeting. And if there was a common message, it was that the stakes were immense, and the party’s organizers, volunteers and officials were eager to get to work.


Ernest LuningErnest LuningFebruary 17, 20174min828

The Colorado Democratic Party plans to hand out a slew of awards at the party’s 84th Annual Dinner, including a new award honoring a young volunteer — although this year it’s going to two recipients. Honorees this year include state Rep. Leslie Herod, D-Denver, the party’s Rising Star Award winter; U.S. Rep. Jared Polis, Democrat of the Year; Ted Fritschel of Arapahoe County, Volunteer of the Year; and Euell Santistevan, Jr., of Jefferson County and Taryn Sebba of Larimer County, the party’s Murphy Roberts Young Volunteers of the Year. The Chair’s Award for Service will be announced at the dinner.